Bike/Walk Central Florida seeks a highly-motivated Best Foot Forward program manager who is serious about pedestrian…
There’s no excuse for carelessly putting children in danger, and now illegally passing a school bus could cost violators as much as $400. Florida H.B. 37, also known as the School Bus Safety Act, increased the fines on January 1, 2021, for failure to stop for a school bus.
Here are the penalties at a glance:
- The fine for failure to stop for a school bus with its stop-arm extended and flashing lights increased from $100 to $200.
- For a second or subsequent offense within a five-year period, your driver’s license will be suspended for at least 180 days.
- For drivers who pass a school bus on the side that children enter and exit when the school bus displays a stop signal, you’ll be hit with a $400 fine.
- If you’re caught doing it again within a five-year period, your driver’s license will be suspended for at least a year.
If you aren’t sure when it’s safe to proceed when a stopped school bus is in sight, the following graphics should help.
Two lane road/street: Vehicles traveling both directions MUST STOP.
Divided roadway: On a highway divided by a median, cars traveling in the opposite direction are not required to stop but should proceed with caution.
Multi-lane paved across: Vehicles traveling in both directions MUST STOP.
When in doubt, play it safe and stop. And remember to always yield/stop for pedestrians.