Seven local law enforcement agencies to conduct a three-day crosswalk enforcement operation in Orange, Osceola,…
Police have a special mission Tuesday: They’re setting up several enforcement sites, hoping to better protect people who walk or bike across Orlando’s busy roads.
For drivers behind the wheel, breaking the law is not only endangering lives, but it could cost some serious money.
Orlando police officers are at the following checkpoints this week:
- Tuesday, Feb. 26:
- 8 – 9 a.m., Semoran Blvd. and Curry Ford Road
- 9:15 – 10:15 a.m., Michigan St. and Cayman Way
- 10:30 – 11:30 a.m., Central Blvd. and Lake Ave.
- Wednesday, Feb. 27:
- 8 – 9 a.m., International Drive and Kirkman Road
- 9:15 – 10:15 a.m., South Rio Grande Ave. and Carter St.
- 10:30 – 11:30 a.m., Church St. and Glenn Lane
- Thursday, Feb. 28:
- 8 – 9 a.m., Rollins St. and Camden Road
- 9:15 – 10:15 a.m., Lake Baldwin Lane and Almond Ave.
Why the big push? According to a study released last year, Orlando ranked No. 1 in the nation for pedestrian deaths and injuries over the last decade.
In response, Orlando police will be at key intersections throughout the city, looking for drivers who don’t yield to pedestrians in crosswalks.
Yielding to pedestrians is required under Florida Law, and if officers in Orlando see you breaking the law, they will give you a ticket.
The latest enforcement is part of a communitywide effort called “Operation Best Foot Forward,” which launched in June 2012.
Since then, Orlando police and the Orange County Sheriff’s Office have issued about 1,300 tickets, along with nearly 3,000 warnings in the form of educational materials making drivers aware of the law.
Police said most people they ticket have been unaware of the law that they must yield to pedestrians.
Law enforcement agencies believe that teaming up and combining enforcement with education and engineering can reduce the number of deaths and injuries by 50 percent over the next five years.
A ticket for failing to yield to pedestrians at a crosswalk would include a $164 fine and a three-point deduction on the driver’s license.
Originally published by Kristen Kane, Tuesday, February 26, 2013